Remote trainer · Dogtra

Dogtra 280C Remote Training Collar (Tom Davis Edition 2.0)

A Tom Davis edition of Dogtra's small-dog trainer

Updated October 2026

Quick verdict

A small-dog Dogtra.

Strength
Fits 10 lb dogs, expands to two.
Trade-off
Superseded by 280X.
Right buyer
Owners of small dogs.
Price seen
$249.99
$249.99Manufacturer store price. Prices change; check the current price before you buy.

Each button opens this exact model. Disclosure

Why it matters

The 280C is the earlier version of Dogtra's 280 line, sold here as the Tom Davis Edition 2.0 and a Boost & Lock edition. It fits dogs from 10 lb and expands to two dogs. Dogtra's newer 280X adds a level lock and IPX9K rating as standard.

Who it's for, and who should skip it

Good fit if

  • Dogs 10 lb and up
  • Two-dog homes
  • Tom Davis method users

Look elsewhere if

  • Dogs under the maker's minimum weight
  • Fearful or reactive dogs without a trainer
  • Owners wanting a quick fix for aggression

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Small-dog fit
  • Expandable
  • Known brand

Cons

  • Superseded
  • Range not listed
  • Price

Limitations to weigh

  • Static stimulation is an aversive. Many vets and welfare groups advise reward-based training first and a qualified trainer before using any e-collar; start at the lowest level that gets a response and never use it in anger.
  • Check fit daily, move the receiver every few hours and limit wear time (makers commonly say no more than 8 to 12 hours a day) to avoid pressure sores.
  • Range figures are the maker's open-ground numbers; trees, hills and buildings cut real range.

Specifications

Every figure below comes from the source shown in brackets. Where the maker doesn't state something, we say so instead of estimating.

Price seen$249.99Maker
Min dog10 lb and upMaker
Dogs supportedExpandable to 2 dogsMaker
RangeNot stated in the maker's materials we readNot stated

Alternatives worth comparing

More remote trainers we cover

All remote trainers, compared in one table · Every Dogtra product we cover

Final verdict

A solid but older Dogtra.

Where to buy

Our links open this exact model's product page. Prices and stock change; check what's included before you order.

$249.99Manufacturer store price. Prices change; check the current price before you buy.

Each button opens this exact model. Disclosure

Questions buyers ask

Is there a newer version of the 280C?
Yes, the 280X.
Can it train two dogs?
It expands to two.