Equipment
GPS & Trackers
Cellular trackers find a dog anywhere there's coverage; radio systems track far beyond cell service but only near you. Here they are side by side.
Three technologies sit under the word “tracker”. Cellular GPS trackers (Fi, Tractive, Petcube) report location over a mobile network, so they need a plan and coverage. Satellite models extend that beyond towers. Radio GPS systems (Dogtra, Garmin) link the collar to a handheld or phone directly: no plan, long range, but only while you're within range.
What decides it
Where your dog gets lost
Escapes from home need cellular tracking. Hunting and backcountry use favors radio systems.
Plan cost over time
Most cellular trackers need a plan; over three years it can cost more than the device. See the subscription calculator.
Battery life
Makers' figures run from days to months. They are best cases; live tracking drains batteries fastest.
Size and attachment
Clip-on trackers fit your own collar; all-in-one collars are harder to lose. Small dogs need light devices.
Every tracker we cover
| Image | Product | Type | Battery (maker) | Network | Subscription | Price seen |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Apple AirTag Apple | Bluetooth tag (not GPS) | More than a year on a replaceable CR2032 | Not stated | None | $29 |
![]() | Fi Series 3+ Smart Collar Fi | Cellular GPS collar | Up to 3 months | AT&T LTE-M | Required | $129 |
| PAJ Dog GPS Tracker PAJ | Cellular GPS tracker | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | $21.99 | |
| Petcube GPS Tracker Petcube | Cellular GPS tracker | Up to 30 days in low-power mode | Not stated | Required | $52.99 | |
![]() | Tractive DOG 6 GPS & Health Tracker Tractive | Cellular GPS tracker | Up to 2 weeks | AT&T, Verizon and T-Mobile LTE (U.S.) | Required | $79 |
| PetSafe GPS Dog Tracker PetSafe | Cellular GPS tracker | Up to 30 days (with included smart charging base) | Satellite GPS + cellular; no Bluetooth needed | Required | $79.99 | |
![]() | Tractive DOG 6 XL GPS & Health Tracker Tractive | Cellular GPS tracker | Up to 6 weeks | AT&T, Verizon and T-Mobile LTE (U.S.) | Required | $89 |
![]() | Fi Mini GPS Tracker Fi | Cellular GPS tracker | Up to 2 months on one USB-C charge | Not stated | Required | $99 |
![]() | Dogtra PATHFINDER2 GPS Tracking & Training System Dogtra | GPS track & train system | Not stated | Not stated | None | $429.99 |
![]() | Dogtra PATHFINDER2 MINI GPS Tracking & Training System Dogtra | GPS track & train system | Not stated | Not stated | None | $429.99 |
![]() | Fi Ultra Smart Collar Fi | Satellite GPS tracker | Up to 5 days | T-Satellite with Starlink | Required | $299 |
No products match that filter.
Figures are the makers' own, quoted with their conditions on each product page. Prices are the price we saw on the date shown on that page.







